Chip ?

Performance and tuning enhancements for your VW
00TURBO
Forum Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:56 pm
Location: 2000
Contact:

Chip ?

Postby 00TURBO » Thu Apr 03, 2008 1:07 pm

anyone know where locally i can get a chip (GIAC, REVO, APR, ect.) for my 1.8t?
00TURBO

BigFuchnJoak

lunisport
Posts: 2490
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 1:00 pm
Location: 2003
Contact:

Postby lunisport » Thu Apr 03, 2008 1:38 pm

I like chips...and salsa...but I'm partial to nachos :rofl:

00TURBO
Forum Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:56 pm
Location: 2000
Contact:

Postby 00TURBO » Thu Apr 03, 2008 10:05 pm

DSR? :huh:
00TURBO


BigFuchnJoak

Turtle-Dude
Posts: 2997
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 12:00 pm
Location: Sacramento
Contact:

Postby Turtle-Dude » Thu Apr 03, 2008 10:30 pm

00TURBO wrote:DSR? :huh:


Dyno Spot Racing, San Jose :clap:
Turtle

Thanks to:
Techtonics Tuning

Check out:
United States Naval Sea Cadet Corps

aggiepm wrote:What is Quaife? isn't that a vaginal fart?

VR64ANT
Forum Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 6:45 am
Location: 1999, 2002

Postby VR64ANT » Fri Apr 04, 2008 7:36 am

i used a be a GIAC fan but no longer. My 337 never had a smooth chip in it. I had every itteration up to the x-chip in my 337 in 2006. I could never get it to stop surging no matter what n75 valve i used. It made a ton of power but was not smooth at all. Call griffen motorworks in berkley... they can hook you up with REVO.

I don't have the car anymore. Overboosting at 22psi made the turbo a little questionable at 55,000 miles so we sold it.

I think i have seen you on my 680 commute. I drive a white, "stock looking" MK3 Jetta VR6. Just ask that guy in the 08 Mustang GT... he'll tell you my car isnt stock. :thumb:

00TURBO
Forum Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:56 pm
Location: 2000
Contact:

Postby 00TURBO » Fri Apr 04, 2008 10:31 am

VR64ANT wrote:i used a be a GIAC fan but no longer. My 337 never had a smooth chip in it. I had every itteration up to the x-chip in my 337 in 2006. I could never get it to stop surging no matter what n75 valve i used. It made a ton of power but was not smooth at all. Call griffen motorworks in berkley... they can hook you up with REVO.

I don't have the car anymore. Overboosting at 22psi made the turbo a little questionable at 55,000 miles so we sold it.

I think i have seen you on my 680 commute. I drive a white, "stock looking" MK3 Jetta VR6. Just ask that guy in the 08 Mustang GT... he'll tell you my car isnt stock. :thumb:


i'm just looking to up my boost psi. but dont want to buy the most expensive chip out there. you most likely have seen me on 680. i commute to livermore and back everyday. :]
00TURBO


BigFuchnJoak

00TURBO
Forum Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:56 pm
Location: 2000
Contact:

Postby 00TURBO » Fri Apr 04, 2008 11:01 pm

cheapest?
00TURBO


BigFuchnJoak

VR64ANT
Forum Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 6:45 am
Location: 1999, 2002

Postby VR64ANT » Sat Apr 05, 2008 7:30 am

you want the cheapest? hmmm... i think they are all about the same price depending on what options you want. And when choosing software, going with the cheapest one may not be the best strategy.

00TURBO
Forum Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:56 pm
Location: 2000
Contact:

Postby 00TURBO » Sat Apr 05, 2008 12:18 pm

VR64ANT wrote:you want the cheapest? hmmm... i think they are all about the same price depending on what options you want. And when choosing software, going with the cheapest one may not be the best strategy.


just need my turbo to produce more psi.
00TURBO


BigFuchnJoak

VR64ANT
Forum Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 6:45 am
Location: 1999, 2002

Postby VR64ANT » Sat Apr 05, 2008 3:16 pm

00TURBO wrote:just need my turbo to produce more psi.



i think the GIAC X-Chip has the most boost. On my 337 I spiked between 21-22psi and could hold about 15-16psi and taper down to 12psi at redline.

Other mods were
-greddy FMIC
-3" dp
-2.5" catback
-cai
-samco boost hoses including TIP

and probably some other stuff i am forgetting. Car put down about 210whp and 245wtq on DSRs dyno.

VR64ANT
Forum Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 6:45 am
Location: 1999, 2002

Postby VR64ANT » Sat Apr 05, 2008 10:20 pm

xspeedracer wrote:APR is the best way to go Smooth power all the way up to redline I see 22psi it only drops when you let off


OMG 22psi all the way to redline on a k03! I find that hard to believe but i have no evidence to dispute it. Man they really have pushed the limits in the 2 years since i have gotten rid of my 337. I doubt the turbo will last very long boosting that high. Pushing that much boost you better have a FMIC!!!!!

00TURBO
Forum Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:56 pm
Location: 2000
Contact:

Postby 00TURBO » Sun Apr 06, 2008 11:56 pm

not trying to cheap my mods. i just know exactly what i want the chip for. :thumb:
00TURBO


BigFuchnJoak

00TURBO
Forum Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:56 pm
Location: 2000
Contact:

Postby 00TURBO » Sun Apr 06, 2008 11:57 pm

BTW, does anyone know about how much a new auto tranny would cost me for my 2000 GTI 1.8t?
00TURBO


BigFuchnJoak

ivor_carcamo
Forum Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 9:37 pm
Location: 2000
Contact:

Postby ivor_carcamo » Mon Apr 07, 2008 5:07 am

would a fmic be necessary if just installing a giac chip on a stock turbo?
"Yea, though I drive in the Valley of the Shadow of the V8, I shall fear no V8 for the Inline 4 is with me. Thy 1.8 liters and thy K04 comfort me. Thou shall prepare boost at my call against the V8 that troubles me. Thou annointest my Inline 4 with Mobil One Oil, and my psi shall runneth over. Thy loving smoothness and torqueness shall follow me all the days of my
driving and I will dwell in the house of the Inline 4 Turbo forever!!!!!!"

VR64ANT
Forum Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 6:45 am
Location: 1999, 2002

Postby VR64ANT » Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:59 am

ivor_carcamo wrote:would a fmic be necessary if just installing a giac chip on a stock turbo?



well you have to decide what you really want for your car. It will run fine without the FMIC but it will pull timing a lot. A lot of people complain about their 1.8ts not having any beans up top. I bet they dont have a FMIC. The FMIC was probably one of the best mods i ever had on my car. The greddy one was cheap at the time. Less than $1000 and i didnt have to hack up my bumper rebar. I think a FMIC is a necessary on all turbo cars... but thats juts me.

VR64ANT
Forum Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 6:45 am
Location: 1999, 2002

Postby VR64ANT » Mon Apr 07, 2008 7:02 am

00TURBO wrote:BTW, does anyone know about how much a new auto tranny would cost me for my 2000 GTI 1.8t?



oh your car is an auto... I think thats a whole new ball game when deciding a chip. If it were me i wouldn't want to chip an auto tranny car. All that torque may makes shifts really rough. I doubt the boost maps are as aggressive on an auto tranny file. I doubt it would even be worth it for the extra headaches you may get on a high mileage turbo car.

00TURBO
Forum Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:56 pm
Location: 2000
Contact:

Postby 00TURBO » Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:34 am

im not going to chip now. i need a new tranny ASAP! anyone know how much these run and from where?

buy my datsun anyone?
http://sfbay.craigslist.org/eby/car/633119115.html
00TURBO


BigFuchnJoak

00TURBO
Forum Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:56 pm
Location: 2000
Contact:

Postby 00TURBO » Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:40 am

how hard would it be to make my gti a manual tranny?
00TURBO


BigFuchnJoak

VR64ANT
Forum Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 6:45 am
Location: 1999, 2002

Postby VR64ANT » Mon Apr 07, 2008 11:45 am

00TURBO wrote:im not going to chip now. i need a new tranny ASAP! anyone know how much these run and from where?

buy my datsun anyone?
http://sfbay.craigslist.org/eby/car/633119115.html



OMG that cas is SICK!!!!!!

00TURBO
Forum Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:56 pm
Location: 2000
Contact:

Postby 00TURBO » Mon Apr 07, 2008 12:42 pm

thanks. sad to see it go but i need the money.
00TURBO


BigFuchnJoak

VR64ANT
Forum Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 6:45 am
Location: 1999, 2002

Postby VR64ANT » Mon Apr 07, 2008 4:19 pm

whats wrong with the tranny on your car?

lunisport
Posts: 2490
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 1:00 pm
Location: 2003
Contact:

Postby lunisport » Mon Apr 07, 2008 5:18 pm

VR64ANT wrote:whats wrong with the tranny on your car?


I think he's missing a pedal :rofl:

00TURBO
Forum Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:56 pm
Location: 2000
Contact:

Postby 00TURBO » Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:53 pm

slips a whole lot after it gets hot. :shoot: auto transmissions
00TURBO


BigFuchnJoak

00TURBO
Forum Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:56 pm
Location: 2000
Contact:

Postby 00TURBO » Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:54 pm

lunisport wrote:I think he's missing a pedal :rofl:

that too. i wish i bought a manual
00TURBO


BigFuchnJoak

Ermentrude
Forum Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 6:13 pm
Location: 2000

Postby Ermentrude » Tue Apr 29, 2008 5:53 pm

I have UPsolute, got it done in San Jose. Drives nicely, but if I were to do it all again, I'd get REVO. :thumb:


Return to “VW Performance Upgrades & Tuning”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests